WWW Wednesday #19: THE AAPI REMIX

“Isn’t this supposed to be WWW Wednesday #20?” you ask. Well, I’m in a bit of a reading slump. I’ve been reading a couple of books for work (which I may review and post here, but I can’t promise anything), which halted me from reading Lore and Love Spells and Other Disasters. As good as Lore is so far, I’ve just been wanting to read the newer galleys I got this month.

These galleys are for a lot of Asian books and since this is the start of AAPI heritage month for me & my fellow AAPI folks, what better way to start it by supporting AAPI authors?

So today, I bring you a WWW Wednesday list for AAPI readers, by an Asian reader!

Well, more like WW as I’m just starting from a new book. And hopefully I can post the other AAPI books on my queue after this.

What’s WWW Wednesday, you ask? WWW Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Sam over on Taking on a World of Words.

It’s a fun idea and we all get to see what we’re all reading! The rundown is: every week you dedicate a post to the three Ws:

What are you currently reading?

What have you just finished reading?

What are you going to read next?

As always, click on the book covers for the Goodreads link!

I’m currently reading She Who Became the Sun by Shelley Parker-Chan! I’ve heard about this book all throughout February and March this year and it’s been compared to The Song of Achilles in terms of queerness, poetic writing, and THE ANGST™ that it’ll bring. It also has the famous Mulan trope of a girl disguising herself as a boy to save her family. So of course I said, “SIGN ME THE HECC UP”. I’m excited to read it and hopefully, I’ll finish it before May ends 😂

LOOK AT THIS BEAUTY. LOOK AT IT. OHMYGOD WHAT A COVER. This was done by Ashley Mackenzie and she did such a stunning job on this cover.

gif of me crying about the Iron Widow cover

They have the full cover art on their profile so go check Ashley’s work out on Twitter.

OKAY enough about the cover 😂 I’ve been a fan of Zhao’s just a bit before their “everything culturally wrong with Mulan (2020)” video and they were teasing the premise for Iron Widow. I’m a huge fan of Pacific Rim and a lot of Kaiju & Mecha-related things, so that part of Iron Widow‘s premise really drew me in. Then I read it had added historical elements and people such as Wu Zetian herself??? Now I really had to read it. And I’m so HYPED that I got an ARC for it!

gif of Kermit flailing, much like me when I found out I got an arc for this book

So, that’s it for my WWW Wednesday (or, rather, WW Wednesday 😂)! What books are you looking forward to reading this month? Lemme know in the comments below.

I will also link a carrd below, featuring some resources if you want to donate to AAPI causes, or educate yourself regarding AAPI issues.

Stay safe, and see you soon.

Anti-Asian Violence Resources:

https://anti-asianviolenceresources.carrd.co/

Follow me on:

Support me on:

3 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday #19: THE AAPI REMIX

  1. ahh yesssss i’m so hyped up for iron widow and OMG THE COVER- such a work of art😭😭😭😭 i’m so hyped up for it and this was such a fun post to read!! 😀

    Like

    • AAH THANK YOU!! I’m still reading She Who Became the Sun and I’m enjoying it so far ;3; I’m seeing Iron Widow posts from Xiran’s Twitter so I’m just seriously hyped to start it soon

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment